Oil Pulling (oral hygiene)

I have Trigeminal Neuralgia (a debilitating disorder that is inexplicably painful) and it makes oral hygiene sometimes impossible… Oil pulling has been around for generations and I decided to give it a try ~ tried… so far not been a trigger for my TN… love how it feels!

AND you KNOW how I adore my coconut oil!  ♥

Check out the website http://authoritynutrition.com/oil-pulling-coconut-oil/



Image

How to Oil Pull

Oil pulling is incredibly simple and effective.

Here’s how to do it:

  1. Put about a tablespoon of oil in your mouth.
  2. Swish the oil around your mouth for about 10-20 minutes.
  3. Spit out the oil, then brush your teeth.

If you use coconut oil like me, then you may have to chew on the oil for a few seconds for it to melt, because it is solid at room temperature.

It is best to do this on an empty stomach, before you brush your teeth.

I prefer to do it while I take a shower in the morning.

I put the oil in my mouth, swish it around while in the shower and try to “push” and “pull” the oil between my teeth.

When I get out of the shower I spit out the oil, rinse my mouth with water and brush my teeth.

There is no need to use a lot of force here, if doing this causes pain in your facial muscles then just relax a bit. Try using less oil next time and don’t swish it around too forcefully.

It’s important to spit out the oil. You don’t want to swallow it because it is full of bacteria and nasty things.

Leave a Reply

